Music Education

Kale Barnes at NCACTE

Kale Barnes ’23 Named Finalist for NCACTE’s Student Teacher of the Year
Oct 10, 2023

Music education alum Kale Barnes ’23 was named one of the top five finalists for the North Carolina Association of Colleges for Teacher Education (N...

Rhododendron Recipients

Alumni Hardy ’98, Wilson ’68, and Witcher ’74 ’87 Inducted into the Reich College of Education Rhododendron Society
Jun 13, 2023

Appalachian State University alumni Nakia Hardy ’98, Tommy Wilson ’68, and William “Bill” Witcher ’74 ’87 were inducted into the Rhododend...

Kale Barnes

Kale Barnes Recognized as the Appalachian State University Student Teacher of the Year
May 17, 2023

Kale Barnes was named the Appalachian State University Student Teacher of the Year for the 2022-2023 academic year in a video message. Barnes, origina...

Patton Band Director Chad Higdon is pictured with some of his students from The Patton High School Panther Regiment on the campus of Lenoir-Rhyne University in Hickory.

Burke County band director wins prestigious regional award
Mar 9, 2023

Congratulations to music education alum Chad Higdon '96!Patton High School Band Director Chad Higdon has received the Award of Excellence by the North...

Bonilla and her class

Music Education Major Malcolm Vaughn and App Educators Club Connect with International Classroom
Jan 12, 2022

Malcolm Vaughn, a sophomore music education major from Apex, North Carolina, first met Pamela Londono Bonilla and her students through his CI 3531 cou...

Audra and Chris Loftin own Sweet Grown Alabama Farms in Tanner. Audra Loftin is “Teacher of the Year” at Columbia Elementary School. CONTRIBUTED

As ‘Teacher of the Year,’ Audra Loftin lets students know music is their own
Jun 28, 2021

Congratulations to alumna Audra Loftin '98 on being named Teacher of the Year!...

Choir (re)-Imagined: Project Appalachian Youth Chorale

Young voices harmonize amid COVID-19 during grant-supported Appalachian Youth Chorale
Jun 21, 2021

Congratulations to education alumni and students Brandon Winbush ’17, Kaitlyn Moore ’20, Miranda Tedder '21, and Malcolm Vaughn on their collabora...