Doctoral Program in Educational Leadership

Students visit the state capitol

Seeing Policy in Action: Field Trip to the State Capitol
May 30, 2023

Field trips to the capitol are not just for the K-12 students. As part of Dr. Jason Lynch’s HE 6340 Policy Analysis in Higher Education course this ...

Leslie Alexander

Alumna Dr. Leslie Alexander ’11 ’18 Named New Watauga County Schools Superintendent
May 16, 2023

The Watauga County Board of Education named Appalachian State University alumna Dr. Leslie Alexander ’11 ’18 as the new superintendent of Watauga ...

Alecia Jackson

Dr. Alecia Jackson Inducted Into the Academy of Outstanding Mentors
May 8, 2023

Dr. Alecia Jackson, professor in the Department of Leadership and Educational Studies, was inducted into the Cratis D. Williams Graduate School’s Ac...

Scotty Huger, on a visit with his class, tries out a typewriter for the first time.

Typewriter Fest sparks heightened creativity
May 2, 2023

Vanessa Barlow, a sophomore English secondary education major, decided a few weeks ago to write a “sappy love letter,” to her boyfriend, but was u...


Students and Faculty Present at the 2023 North Carolina Association for Research in Education Conference
Mar 6, 2023

Reich College of Education (RCOE) students and faculty members gave presentations at the 2023 North Carolina Association for Research in Education (NC...

Mark Poarch named NC Community College President of the Year Feb 3, 2023 0
Feb 8, 2023

Caldwell County native Mark Poarch was recently announced as winner of the 2022-2023 North Carolina Community College System President of the Year awa...

Laura Shears

Shears Receives the 2022 Naylor Award Recipient
Jan 10, 2023

At the Fall 2022 Doctoral Symposium, Dr. Laura Shears was awarded the Alice P. Naylor Outstanding Dissertation Award for the 2021-2022 academic year. ...

Doctoral Student graduates for Fall 2022

Six Doctoral Candidates Graduate December 2022
Dec 12, 2022

Congratulations to the six doctoral candidates in the Reich College of Education’s (RCOE) Doctoral Program in Educational Leadership who graduate at...